• Post category:Health
  • Post comments:0 Comments
  • Post author:
  • Post published:23/04/2021
  • Post last modified:23/04/2021

No matter where we are, whenever we hear out national anthem our heart fills with pride and patriot. This 26th January is the 69th Republic day and we cannot be more proud. This day represents our will-power and fights for our independence (Swaraj). To make this day memorable the final Indian Constitution came in to force and this is the main reason behind calling it Republic Day.

Unknown Facts Behind Celebrating Women’s Day

Before celebrating, let’s make you more knowledgeable about our Republic day…

1. On 26th January 1930, the tri-coloured flag was first hoisted. This was called “Purna Swaraj” Day which later became Republic Day.

2. And when we finally achieved independence from British Raj in 1947, our leaders wanted January 26th to be remembered in history as well. Because this day was connected to the day of our victory.

3. Even though we decided to celebrate this day but still, the first Republic day celebration was held in 1950. Three years after our freedom.

4. This was the same day when The Constitution was enacted, which was passed on November 26th, 1949.

5. The Indian Constitution has a total of 448 articles. Making it the longest Constitution in the world.

6. The first constitution was written by hand and calligraphed. Dr B. R. Ambedkar took 2 years, 11 months and 18 days to write the first draft but it was originally planned for 166 days.

7. The best aspects of other countries constitution were taken to make our own. The concept of liberty, equality, and fraternity came from French constitution. And the Five-Year Plans came from the USSR constitution.

8. There are two original and calligraphed copies of the Constitution, one in Hindi and the other is in English. They have been preserved in helium-filled cases in the Parliament of India.

9. The Republic Day celebration actually lasts for 3 long days. And after the “Beating Retreat” on 29th January, the celebration comes to an end.

10. “Abide With Me”, this Christian song is played at the Beating Retreat parade. It is said to be one of Mahatma Gandhi’s favourite songs.

Inspiring Story: One More Field of Vision

11. From 1050 to 2017 only two times the Beating Retreat has been cancelled. 1st time was in 2001 because of the tragic event of Gujrat earthquake and the 2nd time was because of the unfortunate death of our 8th President Venkat Raman.

12. The R-Day parade wasn’t always held at Rajpath. From 1950 to 1954 the venues changed from Irwin Stadium, Red Fort and Ramlila grounds frequently. But in 1955, Kingsway which is now called Rajpath became the permanent venue.

13. Pakistan’s Governor General Malik Ghulam Muhammad was the first chief guest for the parade at Rajpath, in 1955.

14. The President addresses the Republic Day and the Independence Day is addressed by Prime Minister.

15. The first chief guest for Republic Day parade was The Indonesian President Sukarno, in 1950.

16. A majority of national awards are given on this day, such as Bharat Ratna, Padma Bhushan and Kirti Chakra.

17. Also, it is the chosen day to award the deserving candidates with bravery awards. These awards are Veer Chakra, Maha Veer Chakra, Param Veer Chakra and Ashoka Chakra.

18. 21 gun salutes are given on this day as the President of India hoists the national flag to mark honour.

19. Back in 1965 January 26, Hindi was declared as the national language.

20. Also on this day, Royal Indian Air Force became Indian Air Force. Dropping the word “Royal” from its name was symbolic of Indian independence.

This year we are about to celebrate our 69th Republic Day and it is going to be better than before. This time as chief guests we are going to welcome 10 ASEAN members.

These are the ASEAN leaders who will be present at this year Republic Day celebration…

Joko Widodo, President of Indonesia,

Lee Hsien Loong, the third can current Prime Minister of Singapore,

Nguyen Xuan Phuc, Prime Minister of Vietnam,

Dato Sri Mohammad Najib bin Tun Haji Abdul Razak, Prime Minister of Malaysia,

General Prayut Chan-o-cha, a retired Royal Thai Army officer and current Prime Minister of Thailand,

Aung San Suu Kyi, State Councillor of Myanmar,

Rodrigo Duterte is the President of Philippines,

Haji Hassanal Bolkiah Mu’izzaddin Waddaulah, Sultan of Brunei,

Thongloun Sisoulith, the Prime Minister of Laos,

Hun Sen, Prime Minister of Cambodia.

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a Reply